National Cricket Team Head To India For European Visa Procedures

The Nepali National Cricket Team left for New Delhi to carry out the procedures for visa to Europe on May 31, Sunday.


As informed by Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN)’s Chief Executive Officer, Bhawana Ghimire, the 20-member team led by CAN Acting Chair Deepak Koirala left for India at 10 am. Ghimire further added that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) would be receiving the Nepali team.

The team, which flew to the Indian capital city, includes team skipper Paras Khadka, vice captain Gyanendra Malla, Basanta Regmi, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Subash Khakurel, Shakti Gauchan, Sagar Pun, Bhuwan Karki, Pradeep Airee, Jitendra Mukhiya, Prithu Baskota, Anil Mandal, Siddhanta Lohani, Mehboob Alam, Rajesh Pulami, Abinash Karna, Harishankar Shah, Saurav Khanal and Mahesh Chhetri. Two national cricket players Sharad Vesawakar and Binod Bhandari were already in India before the group’s arrival.

Ireland and Scotland are hosting the selection round from July 9-26 for the T20 Cricket World Cup. Nepal is scheduled to play against Scotland in its away games on July 29 and 31 under the Division Championship.

The Nepal team will train with a local team at Dharmashala of the Indian state of Himachal from June 5 to 20. The national team coach Pubudu Dassanayake, who had returned to his homeland, Canada following the earthquake, will join the national team there on June 3.

Leave a Reply