Pulsar Sports Award 2070 Celebrates Sportsmanship

An effort to honour personalities in Nepali sports, the Pulsar Sports Award 2070 was held on Wednesday, May 21, 2014 when legendary athlete Baikuntha Manandhar was declared the winner of the life time achievement award. Cricketer Sharad Vesawkar and para athlete Yadav Kunwar were named special and para athlete award winners.

Source: Republica
Source: Republica

The organizer of the annual event Nepal Sports Journalist Forum (NSJF) made the declaration amidst a press conference in the capital. Ajay Phuyal, the president of NSJF, said each of the winners will be award cash prize of Rs 50,000, trophies, certificates and gift hampers. According to Phuyal, the life time achievement was offered in recognition of Manandhar´s long contribution in sports. Special and para-athlete award were given for the player´s achievement in their sports throughout the year 2070 BS.

The winners will be awarded on July 2 amidst the award ceremony in the capital which also rewards the winners of five other categories -male, female, youth and popular player of the year, and coach of the year. The nominee for popular player of the year, the winner to be declared on the basis of SMS voting and Facebook likes, has already been revealed.

Leave a Reply