Paras Khadka Wins Player of the Year in Pulsar NSJF Sports Awards


National cricket team captain Paras Khadka has been honoured with the title of Player of the Year male at Pulsar Sports Award on Monday (June 2, 2014).

Among the awards announced for sportsmen in eight different categories amid an annual ceremony organized by Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) at Nepal Academy hall, Sunita Bohara won the female Player of the Year award.

Volleyball player Saraswati Chaudhary won popular player of the year award, garnering highest number of votes received through SMS. According to the organizer, Chaudhary got around 70 percent of the poplar votes.

Similarly, Footballer Bimal Ghartimagar received the youth player of year award while Pubudu Dassanayake was declared as the Coach of the Year.

The accolade for the Champion Team of the Year went to Nepali cricket team. NSJF had kept nominations and the new category of the Champion Team of the year award confidential and announced the winner in the program surprising everyone.

Earlier on Sunday, Legendary athlete Baikuntha Manandhar was declared the winner of the lifetime achievement award while cricketer Sharad Vesawkar won the special award and Yadav Kunwar was announced the winner of para athlete awards.

The nominations were made by a players selection committee coordinated by NSJF Secretary Prakash Timalsina based on the players performance throughout the year 2070 BS.

The winner of the male, female and popular player of the has been awarded Pulsar motorbike each while the winner of other categories received a purse of Rs 50,000 each along with trophies and gift hampers.

Pulsar, the two wheeler automobile brand of Hansraj Hulaschand and Company is the chief sponsor of the event.

Leave a Reply